Windows

How to Clear Timeline Activity History in Windows 10

Windows 10 April 2018 Update 1803 introduces the Timeline feature, a place that stores your past activities and allows you to go back to them and pick up where you left off. This history of timeline activities can get clogged as time goes on and may need cleaning. This guide will show you how to clear timeline activity history in Windows 10.

To take a look at the timeline feature, click the icon Task view on the taskbar or press the keys Win + Tab on your keyboard. If you have been browsing websites or opening documents in Microsoft Office applications, you will see them listed on the timeline ordered by the date you visited them.

If you have been browsing a lot recently or have been working on many documents in Microsoft Word, the timeline might look cluttered with all the activities that the timeline collected in the past and it becomes difficult to find an activity from the list. If you want to clear timeline activity history in Windows 10, here’s how to do it.

YOU CAN ALSO READ:   Fix Elara App is preventing shutdown/restart

By clearing the activity history from the task view timeline, you also help to fix issues where “Pick up where you left off” is not working as it should.

How to Clear Timeline Activity History in Windows 10

To clear the timeline activity history (or often referred to as task view activity history), follow the steps below.

  1. Go to the start menu.
  2. Click Settings (the gear icon on the left).
  3. Choose Privacy .
  4. In the left pane, select Activity history .
  5. On Clear activity history , Click the button Delete to clear timeline activity history in Windows 10.

After clicking the Clear button, when you return to the Task View / Timeline activity history, it should already be empty. It will start collecting your activity history again.

Clear button is missing in Clear activity history

If you allow Windows to sync activities from your PC to the cloud using your Microsoft account, the Clear Activity History button will be hidden. Since you have already synchronized your activities with your Microsoft account, you will need to delete them from the “Manage my Microsoft account activity data” page.

YOU CAN ALSO READ:   How to Uninstall Groove Music from Windows 10

The delete button is made for the history of activities that are stored locally on your computer that is not syncing. As soon as you uncheck the “Allow Windows to sync my activities from this PC to the cloud” option, the delete button will appear again (switch to another settings page and go back to Activity history).

Alternatively, you can temporarily disable “Allow Windows to sync my activities from this PC to the cloud”, go to another settings page, and then go back to Activity history again. Click the Delete button. Then re-enable syncing.

Doing so will only erase the activity history from the local timeline and remove the “pick up where you left off” items. It will not erase data that Microsoft has already collected from you if you are using a Microsoft account and syncing was turned on. You will need to manually clear your search data from the Microsoft account interface by clicking the “manage my Microsoft account activity data” link as illustrated above.

YOU CAN ALSO READ:   Fix Drive Lock Error Scan and Repair

Related posts

The volume icon does not work in Windows

Shubham

5 Ways To Fix Windows 10 Store Error “0x80073cf9”

Shubham

Repair 0xc000021a Error in Windows 10, 8 and 7

Shubham

Leave a Comment